This place is one of the oldest barangays of the municipality. It appeared in the 1734 Map of the Philippines by Maurillo Velarde on display at the National Library in Manila.
It got its name from a king of a snail called damisol. Because there were plenty of those snails in the past, early residents called the place "kadamisolan." In time the name was changed to Damilisan.
In early Spanish times, Damilisan was the religious center in Southern Iloilo. A congregation of Spanish friars known as La Campana built a stone church and cemetery in the barrio. Remains of those stone structures are still found at their sites, some few years ago, porcelain plates, gold medals and human skeletons were unearthed by public works laborers working on the repair and widening of the national road. As no one took notice of those finds, they were lost.
Another Spanish landmark in this place is the stump of a watch tower which residents call "baluarte." History relates that on May 7, 1754, pirates aboard twenty one boats, landed in this town. Led by Spanish officer Jose Echavarria, the inhabitants drove back the pirates to their ships. Later the invaders returned through Damilisan. but they were resisted heroically by the natives led by Spanish Officer Francisco Arbuno.
Before World War II, Damilisan's barrio was the gayest. There were folk dances, boat races, bull fights, wrestling and many other entertainments not to mention the sarsuela and dance highlighted by the coronation of the barrio Queen. All those were made possible under the leadership of the late Juan Muralina, a pioneer school teacher in the place. Such celebrations have since then become a tradition.
During the twenties, Damilisan has its own barrio school. In 1933 however, it was merged with that of Palaca. Today, this school is known as Palaca-Damilisan Elementary School and Barangay High School.
Damilisan's early heads were tiyoy, oyong, edoc, minoy, Juan Nasalga, Telesforo Noble, Pedro Miagar, Luciano Fandiņola, Gregorio Noble, Lino Nasa, Gabriiel Niar, Luis Nolbe and Jose Naringahon. Naringahon headed the place before , during and after World War II. Those who served after the war were Federico Placas (1946-1947), Juan Paguntalan (1948-1949), Eustaquio Fandiņola (1950-1951), Aniceto Nobleza (1952-1955), Monico Mondejar (1956-1959) and Serafin Nobleza (1960-1969), the incumbent Barangay Captain is Lucio Noble (1969-1979).
Damiisan tops other barangays in the number of Chief Marine Engineers. Out of twenty nine, eleven are from Damilisan. Those are Placido Cabinalan, Anecito Callado, Ruperto Fandiņola, Juan Mabor, Nicanor Munion, Bernardo Naringahon, Joaquin Naca, Felix Noble, Manuel Noble, Elias Nono, Sr. and Melchor Paguntalan, Sr.
Barangay Damilisan can be counted among the progressive barangay of Miag-ao as seen from beautiful houses along the highway. At present, there are 237 houses with the total population of 1,200.
Peace, progress and prosperity in the barangay. Organized Peace and Order and full commitment to support the problems and needs of the barangay.
|Rogelio Gayem||Punong Barangay|
|Ricardo Noble Jr.||Kagawad|
|Rommel Yan||SK Chairman|
|Salvacion Nono||Barangay Secretary|
|Helen Naringahon||Barangay Treasurer|
|Number of transportation available in the barangay||Jeepney 15, Tricycle 9, Private cars 14, Motorcycle 9, Bicycle 13, Others 7|
|List of tourist attraction||Baluarte ruins, Coral Reef along the seashore, Oyungan Bridge|
|Number of male||560|
|Number of female||640|
|Number of youths||125|
|Number of households||226|
|Number of houses||237|
|List of sports facilities||Basketball court|
|List of recreational facilities||Billiard, Chess|
|List of school present in the barangay||Barangay Day Care Center|
|Number of college students||30|
|Number of high school students||65|
|Number of elementary pupils||108|
|Number of pre-schoolers||45|
|Prevailing religion||Roman Catholic|
|Number of Houses with Electricity||232|
|Number of Houses without Electricity||5|
|Presence of road and estimated length||300 meters|
|Number of Bridges and Length||1 = 5 meters long|
|Number of Communication Facilities||cellphones 75, telephones 150, Handheld radios 2|
|Number of Water Supply System||Jetmatic pump 216, Deepwell 1, Water Pumps 2, Artisan well 1|
[back to top]
[home] [profile] [history] [government] [tourism] [education] [events] [downloads]