Ongyod is about 4 kilometers uphill from Barangay San Jose and 13 kilometers from the town proper. It nestles on a mountainside. Beyond its hills ranges to the west territory of Antique. Once a sitio of Mabayan, it became a barangay after the war.
This place took its name from a creek, is full of natural scenery like deep ravines and cascading waterfalls. From there, one can feel a touch of a towering of Napulak mountains and behold to unbroken shoreline towards Iloilo City.
The wide shrubs areas covering the hills make this place favorable for cattle. Since 1957 until 1980, Dr. Salustiano Mirasol from Iloilo City maintained a DBP-finance cattle project there.
Guerilla soldier had their bivouac in Ongyod during the war. Mayor Orbe and his family also sought refuge at the height of Japanese atrocities in this town. When Japanese soldiers came to this place, they killed 6 residents of Barangay San Jose.
Except for Silverio Mujer and Dionesio Molavizar who headed this place in 1952-1955 and 1960-1963, the position of teniente and later the barangay captain, is a monopoly of one person, Luciano Frondozo 1945-1979, Antonio Farofil 1979-1994, Jose Hermoso 1994-1997, 1997-2002 Roberto Mueden and at present is Ramon Farofil from 2002.
|Ramon Farofil||Punong Barangay|
|Benjamin Endiable Jr.||Kagawad|
|Geronimo Ermoso||SK Chairman|
|Lourdes Enriquez||Barangay Secretary|
|Elegyn Juderial||Barangay Treasurer|
|List of tourist attraction||Tinagong DAgat, Tulahong Rock|
|Number of households||46|
|Prevailing religion||Roman Catholic|
|Number of Houses with Electricity||0|
[back to top]
[home] [profile] [history] [government] [tourism] [education] [events] [downloads]